love Yourself, Poetry Poem Poet

Amazing Poet, Amazing Poem!!

I was on my Facebook page and I saw someone post this video of this young woman. One of my favorite things to watch and hear is slam poetry.  I love it.  Ever since I read a book by Colleen Hoover called Slammed. I was in LOVEEEEEE with it, I have even wrote some myself. This poem piggy backs what I was saying about be called a “White Girl”. This poet took it to another level and described how we are not the average black girl because others before us are the average black girl. These ladies paved new waves for us as woman of color.  Favorite lines in the poem ” the average black girl have courage that surpassed her every fear and fought for justice and equality year after year. As I construct these words pardon me if I shed a tear because I am not half the Black girl she was. I am not half the black girl she was, see there is a minor clause. She was out there fighting, breaking and changing laws. These words just stuck out to me. I wish I could say I am doing something so profound like this in my life. Standing up for others and making a difference in the world is the most rewarding thing a person can do. Thank you for reminding me of that. I hope you enjoy this poem as much as I did.

Xoxo EbonyMonae

Leave a Reply

