Helping others, Homeless, OCK TV, Quotes

What would YOU DO??

While scrolling down my Face Book newsfeed I came upon this video I am about to post. The things I saw on this video made me so angry, ashamed and hurt.

This man who did not have anything gave the only thing he had that was the coat on his back and  a couple of dollars. He even gave the young boy advice. “I messed up in life”, he told the young boy.  What you did for this young boy says more to us that WE HAVE MESSED UP.  I was angry that no one stopped and helped him, despite people actually looking at him. You can clearly see that it is freezing on the streets of NYC, yet people kept walking by him.

One of my favorite stories in the bible is:

Mark 12:43-44  (NIV)

43: Calling his disciples to him, Jesus said, “Truly I tell you, this poor widow has put more into the treasury than all the others. 44: They all gave out of their wealth; but she, out of her poverty, put in everything—all she had to live on.” 

What this man did reminded me of this story.  I am ashamed because I too am at fault because most of the time I have a one track mind to get where I am going. I was hurt because what if this was not a social experiment? This young boy would have froze too death and not one person would of batted an eye lash.  I can’t help everyone but just helping one person a day or a week makes a huge difference to the person we are helping. We don’t have to give money all the time, a coat, or cup of coffee or even lunch will suffice. Its knowing that we helped someone thats makes all the difference. If we don’t help one another than whats truly the purpose of living? We have to be mindful that others have it worse than us. Humanity has to be mindful of how we treat one another.

Parting quote “If you wait until you can do everything for everybody, instead of something for somebody, you’ll end up doing nothing for nobody”.

XoXo EbonyMonae

1 thought on “What would YOU DO??”

Leave a Reply

