April, Beautiful, Beautifully and Wonderfully Made, Black Girl, Inner Strength, love Yourself, Miss Jessie's, Natural Hair

❤️Two Years Natural❤️

April 13th marked two years since I have been natural. Wow what a journey it has been for me. It has been a love /hate relationship with my hair.  Growing up I had long thick hair but trying to fit in with the other girls I asked for a perm and being to young to understand the care it needed I didn’t take care of it causing my hair to be so damaged it fell out.

One day I looked at my hair it it was so damaged from excessive heat, perms and extensions. I was so mad at myself for letting my hair look this bad. I was trying too hard to fit in and keep up with the styles that I forgot to take care of my hair. In the end I decided to go natural and It was the best choice I have ever done in my life. In October of 2012 I went to my friends house and she cut all the damaged hair off. My hair was maybe a inch long. It was a scary road for me to be embarking on, but I did it. In April of 2013 I had my last perm and it was just my edges or the crown that was permed for a friends wedding I attended.

Now I AM NOT a hair person. Some woman were blessed with being able to do their hair and all these elaborate styles like my sister but I was not. So trying to do my hair in its transition state was very hard because my hair was two different textures. I went through so many products until I felt I got the product that worked best for my hair. The products I use are posted below. I love Miss Jessie’s products my hair feels so soft and my curl pattern is more defined when I use them.

As mentioned above taking this journey was hard to do because I am already self conscious about my appearance and trying to do my hair was something I have struggled with all my life. I could never quite get it to where I want it. Now no one can tell me nothing. I love my hair and I am way more confident in myself than I have ever been. My hair is not long as other naturals but it is healthy and strong. Thats all that matters to me, not the length but the strength of my hair (I like that phrase).

Being a natural is a choice that is not for everyone some woman love their extensions and perms and that is fine its a personal choice but if someone asks me what should they do with their hair I WILL ALWAYS say go natural because the love I have for this journey I embarked on is something that means a lot to me and I want everyone to experience it. I started this journey not knowing what to expect and I sit here as I type this post in love with the outcome. I am still on a journey with my hair, I am trying new styles and colors  but I am being conscious of the the products I put in my hair.

Check out my YouTube page as I will be adding more videos as I go.

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC7kUhPDu6CQ7ytnai8tfdXQ

xOxO Ebony Monae xOxO

p.s

I am in love with my HAIR💜!!!!

Leave a Reply

