African American, Beautiful Words, Beautifully and Wonderfully Made, Black Girl, Blessed, Brave New Voices, Civil Rights, Confess, Confidence In Yourself, Dream Big, Dreams, Extreme Sadness, Follow Your Dreams, Follow Your Heart, Food for thought, Have Courage, Helping others, Inner Strength, Love Life, love Yourself, Monday, Monday Motivation, Prejudice, Quotes, Quotes, Inner Strength, Racism, Thank You, True Potential, Uncategorized, Words of Wisdom

Thank You And Happy Birthday!! 

  
Thank You Dr. Martin Luther King. Because of you and others, people of color and other races have come a long way towards equality. You gave us a voice. Growing up my grandmother use to sing you praises. Young me thought why? He’s just another preacher. She sat me down and explained to me that you were more.  You were a vision of hope. She described what life was like growing up in the south. She recalled not facing extreme racism like her brothers and sisters due to her lighter skin tone but she remembered how she felt. She felt worthless. 

My grandmother engrained in me to be humble and most of all thankful. Young me wouldn’t understand the significance of her words until later on in my life. 

I won’t put you on a pedalstool because like any other human you had flaws. But I will say that you paved the way for young people like me to not have to take a seat in the back of the bus, a right to equal education, the right to be African America in a country when racicm is still much alive. 

Your bravery and courage paved the way for a black man to be President of the United States. 

It saddens me to see young men and woman forgetting about the people who fought and died for some of the luxuries they have today. It saddens me to see the younger generation putting pop stars as there idols based on looks and the money they flash around. 

It breaks my heart to see we have entered an era where young men and woman are dying at the hands of police officers and that our legal system is failing them.  Justice is not being served. It’s time we all stand up for what matters. No longer should we be silent on these matters. 
We have a voice and it’s our turn to take up the torch and march forward. 

Thankful, 

Ebony Monae

ps,

Wishing you a very special Birthday in Heaven!! 


Leave a Reply

