Confidence In Yourself, Extreme Sadness, Faith, Inner Strength, Life, Lost Girl, Love, Love Life, Love Your Hair, love Yourself, Monday, Monday Motivation, Natural Hair, Purpose, Strong, Woman Encouragement, Words of Wisdom

Extremely Saddened😔

This breaks my heart to see this. I don’t know what made her do something like this to herself. My heart goes out to any woman or man that can’t not accept the skin they are in. Trust me I was there. 

I know what it’s like to hate the skin color your in. I used to be bullied for being dark skinned. Thinking of it now is bringing me to tears. Kids were mean and cruel. I remember using cream lightners on my skin. Especially in my cheeks areas. Before my mother caught on  to what I was doing, I was two different skin tones. This resulting me to be made fun of again.  

It’s so important to uplift people. Words of kindness will go farther than words of cruelty. I wish someone told me I was beautiful when I was going through this I my life. At such a young age I was lost and confused. I hated my skin color. I hated my hair. I hated myself. 

Now that I’m older and I look back on that time in my life. I am thankfully that I took a journey of self discovery. I’m thankful that I learned to love the skin I’m in. I never understood why God puts you situations until now. I learned from them. I believe my journey was to help others. I had to go through the the pain and self hate to help and understand what others are going through. Now I don’t know if that’s what Lil Kim is going through. I can only guess as to her drastic changes. 

Final thoughts, love who you are. Take a journey within yourself. Don’t let other people’s words of hate make you see yourself differently. God designed you with love. Your skin, your hair or what you don’t like about yourself does not define who you are! I have learned that the most beautiful people can be the ugliest. What’s on the inside will always matter. 

Made in Gods Image, 

Ebony Monae 

ps, 

Take a journey of self discovery it will change you!

8 thoughts on “Extremely Saddened😔”

  1. I feel quite sad for Kim too, especially because so many loved her for the skin she was in way before she picked up the lightning creams! I wonder what encouraged her to do this too herself, and I hope she doesnt pass this lack of self confidence to her child. Hopefully her child will encourage her to see her true beauty

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow, that’s so terribly sad that she’d do that to herself! Her skin was so beautiful and now she’s ripped it away (not literally of course). Unlike you, I never had to deal with being bullied because of the amount of melanin in my skin but my sister is darker than me, as well as my cousin who’s very dark, and I saw what they went through and how they were treated by other black people….it saddened me and made me wish I could help in anyway. “Beauty is in the eye of the beholder” I take this quote so seriously because it reminds me that I’m the only one that matters, I’m the only one that can tell me I’m beautiful or not. I know it seems easy but telling yourself that takes tremendous strength and sometimes I’m still not there. My heart goes out to the young you and I’m glad you grew from your experiences instead of being stuck in the past (like Kim obviously). I’ve had my insecurities, mainly in my body and just overall look. I always thought I was too fat, or my nose too big, lips too small some day’s and too big others, hair too “nappy”, teeth too spaced, my forehead too big, I mean the list goes on, but as I got older and began to feel comfortable in myself and love me with all my so called flaws, I truly appreciated how God made me – in his image to so I better get it together lol. Now, I don’t feel those things about myself, except my head being big because it’s huge lol (I’m not mad at that though), and I’m so glad I read this wonderful post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. This response is amazing!! Thank you for your kind words. Sometimes when your lighter skin they don’t know what it’s like to be darker skinned and they will tell you to suck it up. Glad you didn’t. Glad you stuck by the dark girls. There was this girl who I thought was beautiful. We became friends she confided in how she thought she was ugly. That made me realize that we all have insecurities about ourselves. I’m glad that you over came them like I did. Since we know what it’s like to not like ourselves it’s important that we educate and uplift the younger generation they will need it the most. Thanks Codie for your kind words💜💜

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh, thank you 🙂 You’re so welcome! That’s so true I have cousins (my family is huge) that are very, very light and don’t seem to think it’s offensive to say stuff like “Dark skin people are ugly, but not you, cousin.” You wouldn’t believe how common it is in Philly for people to say stuff like that. I can never say I know what it’s like to be dark skin (in the black community of course lol), but I have seen the negative effect it can instill in young black girls – low self esteem is hard to overcome. Haha, I’m glad too because I never wanted to be THAT person, you know? That’s crazy and really shows that everyone has there own issues when it comes to themselves. Not always cosmetic, but it still exist. I’m so glad you did as well because in this world today confidence is key haha. I’m very thankful that I was able to read this post and You’re welcome 😀

        Like

Leave a Reply

