After College, Anger, Blessed, Dream Big, Inner Strength, Life, lifestyle, Love Life

Letting Go✌🏾️

Good Morning Loves💜 

I can’t believe I will graduate in four days. I have all these emotions running through me. I’m excited, nervous, scared and angry. Scared because I am leaving all that I know from friends to teachers. Excited for all new possibilities that await me. Nervous because I don’t know if I can measure up out there in the real world. 

Lastly I am angry because as I accomplish something major in my life I have to argue with my family over who gets to attend my graduation ceremony. I thought it would be obvious that you would only want your close friends and family watch you as walk across that stage. Not my family they feel like they should have first dibs. Let’s think about this one. When I needed my family when I was sick in the hospital year ago and didn’t know if I could finish my semester where was my so called family? When I didn’t know how I was going to pay my tuition where was my so called family? When I was stressed out about writing my thesis and wanted to give up where was my so called family? 

No Where. No one called. No one visited. No one cared. So no you don’t get first dibs on anything. Only the people who have been there do. Those people matter. Why? Because they seen me at my worst. Saw me bust my ass and struggle.  Those people get to see me accomplish something great in my life. 

To anyone that is going through something like this. Please speak up. Don’t let others cash in on your accomplishments. I whole heartily believe that people that stood by you while you were at your worst get to see you at your best. My journey of self discovery has been about that. I’m letting going of people like that in my life. 

I don’t know what the future is going to hold for me but, I know I have God and amazing family and friends by my side to see me through it. 

This Girl is a College Grad,

Ebony Monae

2 thoughts on “Letting Go✌🏾️”

Leave a Reply

