Be Awesome, Be Happy, be inspired, Enjoying Yourself, Quotes, Words of Wisdom

Learning to be Content with Myself

Good morning loves. Happy Thursday. I hope your week is going great. I hope your being the best you person you can be.  

I had this quote above saved in draft folder for a long time but significance of it didn’t hit home until recently. 

I am forever being pulled in many different directions. Trying to make time for everyone. For that I am to blamed. I agree to do things that I sometimes forget that I’m not superwoman. That I forget about me. I forget about taking time for me. This weekend I did that. I took five glorious days for myself. I went shopping, had dinner alone, went to a poetry show. I went on a mini road trip. It was fine. In therapy my therapist and I are working on me doing things alone. Being content with myself. I always have to bring someone with me for me to be comfortable doing things. In all honesty I was scared to do things alone. I mean who wants to. 

One thing I learned from last week is you can do it. You can take time for yourself and be unapologetic about it. Last week I also got into a fight with my girlfriends and it was a small thing that turned into a big thing. It had me thinking that maybe I should do this so we can be back to where we were even when I didn’t want to. Even when I was not ready to. I was setting a course for my life based on them. If that makes any sense. I had to really take a step back and say no. I had to acknowledge that I’m still upset and hurt by what transpired and that its okay for me to be. 

What’s not okay is that I would have went down a different avenue just so we would not be mad at each other again. In that instance I let the argument set a different course of my life.  

In the end this quote just embodied everything I aiming to be. I’m working on me. I’m doing what I want with my life. I’m learning to let go of others perceptions about life and learning to understand my own. 

If you take anything from this post take the fact that you can have time set aside just for you and you can enjoy it ALONE.

As always Be Amazing, Be Beautiful and Be Vibrant💜 

Ebony Monae💜
 

ps, 

be unapologetic about who you are! 

2 thoughts on “Learning to be Content with Myself”

Leave a Reply

