Beautiful, Black Women, Blessed, Blogger, Confidence In Yourself, Inner Strength, Inspiration, Inspirational blogger, Life, lifestyle, lifestyle blogger, Love Your Hair, love Yourself, Low Self-Esteem, Natural Girls, Woman Encouragement

To The Dark Skin Beauties

Morning loves. Happy Sunday!! 

This post is for the girls that were told “Your pretty for a dark skin girl(s).”

Please like this post if you have ever been told that above. I HATE those seven words with a fierce passion. Why can’t I be beautiful because of my dark skin?

Growing up I was always made fun of because of my skin color. My siblings would call me “blacky” all the time due to the name calling I would grow up to hate my skin tone. I will never forget the time I was introduced to Coco Butter. I used that every day morning and night. About four months into using it my mother noticed my skin changing. She asked me what was going on with my face. I told her “I don’t know I’m just becoming lighter.” Around the six month mark she finally caught on to what I was doing by this time it was two late the damaged was already done. I had lights spots on my cheeks but the rest of my face was dark. Thus having me being called “two toned”. My thinking at that time was if I was lighter I would be beautiful. If I was lighter I would not be made fun of. If I was lighter boys would notice me. 

In my haste to lighten my skin didn’t realize that you had to put it all over your face and not just on the areas you didn’t like. It took years for my skin to become back to normal. Even now its tough to find certain foundations. 

I was not raised to love my skin until I got older and realized that my skin was not going anywhere. It is apart of me. Take this time to look into the mirror and see that beauty that is you. 

If you take away anything from this post. Understand that YOU ARE BEAUTIFUL. YOUR SKIN IS BEAUTIFUL. Your skin color does not determine if your  a pretty or not. I came across this video by Buzzfeed about dark skin and how people from various cultures go through this. Take a look at it. I have included it in bottom of this post. 

Ps, 

I love my skin 💜💜 

3 thoughts on “To The Dark Skin Beauties”

Leave a comment